top of page

ONE YEAR OF BLOGGING | LET’S CATCH UP!

Guys It’s official. My little old blog turns one today.

Happy birthday!

Happy blogiversary!

Merry blogmas!

Okay, maybe the last one doesn’t work but I’m extremely happy. It’s really been a year since I started blogging.

Most importantly, I want to thank you guys for reading, subscribing and just the general support you’ve given me throughout the year. An even bigger thank you to my Mum and close friends that encouraged me to start blogging in the first place. Special shout out to Sharaye, who talked me through the various blogging platforms and helped me pick from like a 1000 blog names LOL.

Anyways, if you haven’t already noticed it’s now “thelifeofjoyx.com”.

Feel free to cry with me!

No more dot wixsite, slash this, slash that (love you wix).

This change was long overdue and It’s fair to say that this blog has grown a lot along with its owner.

I can finally add one of these to my keyring.

Thank you Amanda and Sara for believing in me from the very beginning.

Love you guys so much!

*Takes a deep breath*

I know I know, it’s been nearly two months since my last post, but I can honestly explain. I really hadn’t been feeling myself and I just needed sometime to reset. But I’m back and I’m better (8)

Anyways, let’s talk about what I got up to in the month of May...

Dubai was everything and more!

If you’ve ever visited, then I know you’ll agree with what I’m about to say. Dubai Is somewhere you can go repeatedly. The atmosphere, food, diversity, creativity and variety are just breath-taking. And for those that have been asking…

the Dubai blog will be up soon. I promise.

I absolutely love this picture and love them!

New trim.

If you follow me on Instagram, then you’ll know that I cut all my hair off.

Why?

Well there’s quite a lot of reasons but I’ll just mention a few.

1. It was something that I’ve always wanted to do but just never had the guts. My forehead is huge and with such a cut there would be nowhere to hide it. This is why wigs are magical, I was able to make my forehead whatever size I wanted it to be lol.

2. My mum really inspired me. She cut her hair whist I was away and she’s seriously killing it. I really feel like its empowered her and she looks so beautiful.

3. I just felt like having a change and wanted an easier life. Short hair is so much easier to maintain.

Btw the photos above were taken by the Marj (best photographer in town). So anytime you see that famous wall you know who’s behind the camera. She thinks that I should start paying her for her services *rolls eyes*

Maria’s leaving do.

Sadly, one of my friends decided that she wanted to move back home (Cyprus) so I went Southampton for the weekend. We needed to turn up together in England for one last time. I had a great weekend and as you guys already know, Southampton is my home away from home.

After work shenanigans with Tan.

I feel like every catch up is going to involve Tan because these after work link ups are becoming a regular occurrence. It’s nice that she works so close to me and is real fun to be around. We went to 'The Blue’s kitchen' and as per usual our eyes were bigger than our bellies.

I had lobster for the second time in my life and this time I hated it. It was served cold, so it really wasn’t my cup of tea. Everything else was yummy though.

As you can see the table was overcrowded. But Tanisha managed fine. So why didn’t I?

I carelessly knocked my glass of prosecco on the floor and It was at this point that I wanted the ground to swallow me up. It made so much noise causing everyone (most people) to look at me.

Moving on.

Our next after work sesh was at 'Dirty Martini.' The drinks were lush and the nibbles were very tasty. I still need to understand how "let’s have a few drinks after work" turned into us getting home at such foolish hours.

Junk yard golf club and more.

Regardless of what we do, I always have a great time with Lulu!

We went crazy golf and had some cocktails. The cocktails were very pretty but consisted mainly of ice. Talk about going heavy on the ice and light on the alcohol. After that we had a slice of pizza and was lured into this urban festival pop-up. There was jenga, table tennis, various food and drink stalls and everyone was just friendly with good vibes.

We then ended our night at my favourite bar in Shoreditch; The Cornershop.

Bank holiday at Cargo(Shoreditch).

Cargo was one of the very first spots I went to in Shoreditch and it’s a shame that I abandoned the place. The funny thing is that I wanted to go DLT brunch but didn’t get a ticket. I’m so glad that I didn’t because Cargo was the place to be!

Finally, I got myself some little fishes.

Yeah, you read correctly.

According to my haters, I mean friends; buying fishes at my age means I am going through a quarter life crisis. But what do they know!

Thanks for reading and I hope you’ve all had a great month!

Lots of love,

Joy x


bottom of page